Album Review: Lagwagon “Hang”

Released:  OCTOBER 28, 2014 Fat Wreck Chords


Hang has been out since October but I have been reluctant to give it a listen until the last few weeks. Honestly the album cover was the reason that I hesitated. Not that I am easily offended or that I dislike the album cover at all but I’ve had several friends that have hung themselves and just seeing a noose is a reminder of that; therefore I knew I would have to be in the right mindset. I also am afraid of swarms of bees, but never the less I can appreciate the symbolism. Click Here to Purchase


With that being said the album is brilliant and I am glad I finally decided to listen.

There are several stand out tracks on this LP but for me track #6 is by far the song that stands out the most. In fact I would go as far to say that this song could possibly be one of the best punk songs every written. Obsolete Absolute touches on the fact that many people and their skill-sets are endangered or rendered worthless in modern times. Just an amazing concept, which makes me think I should be writing this review with my old typewriter.

“One More Song” was written for longtime friend and fellow musician Tony Sly of No Use For A Name, who passed away in 2012. This song begins with a melodic vocal and piano underlay followed by an anticipated punk rock beat; I say anticipated because this is Lagwagon after all, but never the less the message remains the same despite the intensity. Joey Cape’s lyrics are strong, heartfelt and almost guilt driven, as if he could’ve done something to save Tony. Stand Out Lyrics “but somewhere in each day I recall, that crooked smile, last few years to calculate all the ways I could have changed your fate.” “Tony, we’ll always long for one more song.”

I strongly urge music fans to purchase this album, you won’t be disappointed.


1. Burden of Proof
2. Reign
3. Made of Broken Parts
4. The Cog in the Machine
5. Poison in the Well
6. Obsolete Absolute
7. Western Settlements
8. Burning Out in Style
9. One More Song
10. Drag
11. You Know Me
12. In Your Wake


I Dare You to Comment